Home » About FISPGHAN


2012 FISPGHAN_logo[1]

Q: What is FISPGHAN?

FISPGHAN is an umbrella organization composed of four pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition professional societies:

1.  NASPGHAN, the North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition.  www.naspghan.org

2.  LASPGHAN, the Latin American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition.  www.laspghan.org

3. ESPGHAN, the European Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition.   www.espghan.org

4.  APPSPGHAN, the Asian Pan Pacific Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition.

Affiliate members of FISPGHAN, include CAPGAN (the Commonwealth Association Paediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition).  www.capgan.org

Q.  When and why was FISPGHAN founded?

FISPGHAN was founded in the year 2000, by pediatric professional societies wishing to promote worldwide cooperation and education among pediatric gastroenterologists.  The primary role of FISPGHAN has been to facilitate the World Congress of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition (WCPGHAN), which currently occurs every four years.

Q:  What is the World Congress of Pediatric Gastroenterology?  The World Congress is an every four year international meeting of pediatric gastroenterologists.  WCPGHAN was founded in the year 2000 by Dr. Harland Winter of Harvard Medical School.  Thus far, there have been four such meetings:

2000 – Boston Massachusetts, USA – Chair, Harland Winter

2004 – Paris, France – Chair, Olivier Goulet

2008 – Iguassu Falls, Brazil – Chair, Ulysses Fagundes-Neto

2012 – Taipei, Taiwan – Chair, Yen-Hsuan Ni

Each meeting has attracted over 1000 pediatric gastroenterologists from all over the world to update them on scientific progess.

Q: Who are the presidents of FISPGHAN?

Since FISPGHAN was founded in 2000, the presidents have been:

Stefano Guandalini (2000-2004)

Geoff Cleghorn (2004-2008)

Mei-Hwei Chang (2008-2012)

Kathy Schwarz (2012-2016)


Q: Who are the current Society Representatives to FISPGHAN?

FISPGHAN members include two delegates from each member society, as well as the chair of the host organizing committee of the world congress.

Current members include:

NASPGHAN: Athos Bousvaros, Kathy Schwarz, Ernest Seidman (Host, 2016 World Congress)

ESPGHAN: Drs. Riccardo Troncone, Deirdre Kelly, Berthold Koletzko

LASPGHAN: Drs. Marina Orsi, Sylvia Cruchet

APPSPGHAN: Drs. Mei-Hwei Chang, Yen-Hsuan Ni

CAPGAN: Drs. Tahmeed Ahmed, Bhupinder Sandhu

The executive director of FISPGHAN is Margaret Stallings, who can be reached through the NASPGHAN office, www.naspghan.org


  1. Maggie Bray says:

    Hi, we would like to invite your membership to the Pediatric Satellite Meeting of Baveno VI. Please see our webpage for more details: http://www.chp.edu/CHP/baveno+vi+pediatric+satellite+meeting Do you rent your mailing list? Please let us know. I appreciate your consideration.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: